• 26th Nov 2021
  • 7:30pm
  • £16.00

about this event

SALOMÉ QUARTET is a multinational ensemble formed in 2016 by four prizewinning students of the Royal College of Music in London: Haim Choi (South Korea), Ines Delgado (Portugal), Kasia Ziminska (Poland) and Shizuku Tatsuno (Japan). The musicians have performed worldwide in venues including Muzikverein (Vienna), Mozarteum (Salzburg), Unesco Hall (Paris), Lutoslawski Concert Studio (Warsaw), Tel Aviv Opera House (Israel), as well as Wigmore Hall, Barbican Centre, Southbank Centre, Royal Albert Hall and Cadogan Hall in London.

The ensemble enjoys performing new music by contemporary composers, and has recently premiered a piece by a Turner Prize winning artist, Martin Creed, at the O2 Forum. The group has worked with renowned musicians such as Mats Zetterqvist, Simon Rowland Jones, Paul Roczek, Chaim Taub, Garth Knox, Grigory Kalinovsky, and ensembles such as Sacconi, Chilingirian, Harlem, Austrian, Aviv, and Fitzwilliam Quartets.

The Salome Quartet is in hot demand around Europe. Their
programme at Cranleigh Arts includes “Three Idylls “ by Frank Bridge.

Salomé Quartet are grateful for the generous support from the Leverhulme Trust, Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation, Orpheus Award, Joan Weller & Jessie Sumner Scholarship.


Haydn – String Quartet in G major Op. 76 No 1                                                          22'

Bridge – Three Idylls for String Quartet                                                                      14'

Schubert – String Quartet No 14 in D minor, D. 810, ‘Death and the
Maiden’          39'

dedicated the Three Idylls (H67) to E.E.S.—Ethel Elmore
Sinclair was an Australian who sat with Bridge on the first desk of the second
violins in the Royal College of Music Symphony Orchestra at the turn of the
twentieth century. She returned from Australia in October 1907, six months
after Bridge, playing second violin, had given the premiere of the suite with
the Grimson Quartet. Frank and Ethel were married on 2 September 1908. 

Bridge’s mastery of the string medium is
evident right from the outset. The first movement opens in subdued, almost
melancholy vein, with the main theme on Bridge’s favourite instrument, the
viola. The Adagio molto espressivo in C sharp minor blossoms into a serene and
lyrical E major, one of Bridge’s characteristic ‘stringy’ keys. After a
stirring climax, the music subsides once more into a more melancholic mood. The
second Idyll has become Frank Bridge’s most often played
composition. In 1936 Benjamin Britten used it as the theme for his Variations
on a theme of Frank Bridge for string orchestra, Op 10, which is in fact
Britten’s affectionate character study of his teacher. Britten was attracted to
this music because of its subtle harmonic ambiguities. The central section is
more animated and direct in harmony. The finale, with its bustling energy and
vitality reveals the influence of Debussy’s String Quartet—a work which
Bridge’s had admired since his student days.

Running Time: 110 mins approx (including 20 minute interval)


related events