• 22nd Mar 2024
  • 7:30pm
  • £20.00

about this event

Lucy Gould (violin), David Adams (violin), James Toll (viola), Kate Gould (cello)


Haydn Op 76 No 2 ‘Fifths’ (24')


              Andante o piu tosto allegretto

              Menuetto : Allegro

              Finale: Vivace assai

Debussy String Quartet in G Minor (25’)

              Animé et très décidé  

              Assez vif et bien rythme 

              Andantino, doucement expressif

              Très modéré – En animant peu à peu – Très mouvementé et avec passion              


Mendelssohn String Quartet No 6 in F Minor Op 80 (25’)

              Allegro vivace assai

              Allegro assai


              Finale: Allegro Molto

The Festival String Quartet has been formed by Britain’s most established devotees to the world of chamber music. From sisterhood to combined membership of groups like the London Bridge Trio and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, these players are now uniting each year as residents of the Winchester Chamber Music Festival to explore the quartet repertory, drawing on their wealth of experience and exceptional reputations in the field. 

Individually, their biographies say it all. Lucy Gould continues to tour internationally as a member of the Gould Piano Trio and is artistic director of the Corbridge Chamber Music Festival, David Adams is the leader of the Welsh National Opera and artistic director of the Penarth Chamber Music Festival, James Toll is a member of early music specialists, Archangelo, and Kate Gould was, for 21 years, a member of the celebrated Leopold String Trio and artistic director of the Winchester Chamber Music Festival. 

This year they will focus on quartets by Haydn, Debussy and Mendelssohn. They are all constructed in the classic four-movement structure, but couldn’t be more contrasting. The Haydn they have chosen is nicknamed ’The Fifths’ due to the familiar pair of falling fifth intervals which Haydn then develops in an extraordinary range of contexts. The famous canon of the Minuet movement proceeds one Haydn’s most playful and cheeky finales.

Debussy wrote his string quartet before his student Ravel completed a somewhat similar work, both undoubtable masterpieces in their own rights but also featuring the hazy, impressionist textures (so French in style) and a fantastically rhythmic scherzo movement full of spiky plucking of the strings.

Finally, Mendelssohn's Opus 80 quartet is an outpouring of anguish and sadness, written after the death of his dearest and most respected sister, Fanny. The themes are dominated by highly charged 'tremolos’ effects and insistent rhythms rather than Mendelssohn’s usual focus on beautiful melodies. This is a work of great passion, turmoil and invention - a highly charged experience for player and listener alike!

This concert is fundraising for Cranleigh Arts


related events